

No. 13

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

Fourth Session

Thirtieth Legislature

Monday, March 6, 2023

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

The Speaker offered a prayer and a moment of silence was observed in recognition of the death of former Member Hon. Mike Cardinal, Member for Athabasca-Lac La Biche, 1989 to 1993, Member for Athabasca-Wabasca, 1993 to 2004, and Member for Athabasca-Redwater, 2004 to 2008, who passed away on January 12, 2023.

## **Speaker's Statement – Member's Anniversary**

The Speaker made a statement in recognition of the 15th anniversary of Hon. Ms Notley, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition, who was elected to the Legislative Assembly on March 3, 2008. The Speaker presented the Member with a 15-year Mace pin.

#### **Members' Statements**

Mr. Singh, Hon. Member for Calgary-East, made a statement regarding the proposed Budget 2023.

Hon. Ms Hoffman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Glenora, made a statement regarding Government polices affecting health care.

Hon. Ms Issik, Hon. Member for Calgary-Glenmore, made a statement recognizing the life and legacy of Joan Snyder.

Mr. Sigurdson, Hon. Member for Highwood, made a statement regarding the Rolling Barrage motorcycle rally.

Hon. Ms Sigurdson, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Riverview, made a statement regarding World Hearing Day.

Mr. Smith, Hon. Member for Drayton Valley-Devon, made a statement regarding Recovery Energy Services Inc.

Mr. Barnes, Hon. Member for Cypress-Medicine Hat, made a statement regarding the Government's economic policies.

#### **Notices of Motions**

Hon. Mr. Schow, Government House Leader, gave oral notice of the intention to introduce the following Bill:

Bill 8 Alberta Firearms Act — Hon. Mr. Shandro

#### Tablings to the Clerk

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Mr. Copping, Minister of Health, pursuant to the Health Professions Act, cH-7, s4(2):

Alberta College of Paramedics 2021-2022 Annual Report

Sessional Paper 87/2022-23

College and Association of Respiratory Therapists of Alberta Annual Report 2021-2022

Sessional Paper 88/2022-23

College of Dental Technologists of Alberta 2021 Annual Report Sessional Paper 89/2022-23

### ORDERS OF THE DAY

## Public Bills and Orders Other Than Government Bills and Orders

#### **Second Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 203 Traffic Safety (Excessive Speeding Penalties) Amendment Act, 2022 — Mr. Toor

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Mrs. Pitt in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 32

Aheer Jones Schulz Amery Lovely Shepherd

Ceci Milliken Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)

Dach Nally Singh

Getson Nielsen Smith (Drayton Valley-Devon)

Glubish Orr Stephan
Gray Pon Toor
Horner Reid Turton
Hunter Rowswell van Dijken
Issik Rutherford Yao

Jean Savage

Against the motion: 0

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 204 Missing Persons (Silver Alert) Amendment Act, 2022 — Mr. Smith

A debate followed.

Debate adjourned, Mr. Nielsen speaking.

The following Bill was read a Second time and referred to Committee of the Whole:

Bill 203 Traffic Safety (Excessive Speeding Penalties) Amendment Act, 2022 — Mr. Toor

#### **Motions Other Than Government Motions**

**503.** Moved by Hon. Ms Sigurdson:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government

- (a) to consider taking immediate action to reduce costs to seniors related to medical benefits, long-term care, continuing care, home care, assisted living, drivers' licence medical exams, and other basic essentials that have increased dramatically since 2019; and
- (b) to create an independent office of the Seniors' Advocate, the mandate of which would include
  - (i) helping seniors navigate provincial public services,
  - (ii) providing policy and affordability recommendations related to seniors to the Government, and
  - (iii) conducting reviews on providers of services to seniors to ensure seniors' needs are met.

A debate followed.

Hon. MLA Ceci, Hon. Member for Calgary-Buffalo, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

The question being put, the motion was defeated. With Hon. Mr. Cooper in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 7

Ceci Irwin Shepherd

Dach Nielsen Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)

Gray

Against the motion: 29

Aheer Lovely Schulz Amery McIver Singh

Ellis Nally Smith (Drayton Valley-Devon)

Nicolaides Getson Stephan Glubish Toor Orr Pon Turton Horner Reid van Dijken Hunter Issik Rowswell Williams Jean Rutherford Yao

Jones Savage

### Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 4(2), the Assembly adjourned at 6:06 p.m. until Tuesday, March 7,2023, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Monday, March 6, 2022